Seed Science and Technology

Phone number:


The Program started its activities in 1974 with the creation of a Master’s Degree. The Specialization Degree in Seed Science and Technology was established in 1985, followed by a Doctorate Degree in 1991 and finally the Professional Master’s Degree, created in 2001.


The Program’s facilities include five laboratories and the Seed Processing Unit structured as follows:

– Teaching Laboratory of Seed Analysis;

– Analytical Laboratory of Seed Production;

– Bioseed Laboratory;

– Seed Pathology Laboratory;

– Seed Physiology Laboratory;

– Seed Processing Unit.

Area of Concentration

Lines of Research

Seed trading

Seed Quality Control

Seed Physiology

Seed Pathology

Seed Production

Forage Seed Production and Technology

Postharvest Seed Technology

Study Plan

Students earn a Master’s Degree upon taking a minimum of 30 credits, of which 16 (sixteen) must be those earned through the completion of courses offered by the Program). Additionally, students must also earn a passing grade in the English proficiency test and have their thesis approved by the examination board.


Professor Antonio C. S. A. Barros –
Professor Dario Munt de Moraes –
Professor Francisco Amaral Villella –
Professor Leopoldo M. B. Labbé –
Professor Luis Osmar Braga Schuch –
Professor Manoel de Souza Maia –
Professor Maria Ângela André Tillmann –
Professor Orlando Antônio Lucca Filho –
Professor Paulo Dejalma Zimmer –
Professor Silmar Teichert Peske –
Professor Vilmar Luciano Mattei –
Professor Wolmer Brod Peres –

Number of credits required

Sala dos Conselhos Superiores da UFPEL · Antigo Lyceu Riograndense / Escola de Agronomia Eliseu Maciel – Praça Sete de Julho, 180 · Patrimônio Cultural da Universidade