Seed Science and Technology

Phone number:


The Program started its activities in 1974 with the creation of a Master’s Degree. The Specialization Degree in Seed Science and Technology was established in 1985, followed by a Doctorate Degree in 1991 and finally the Professional Master’s Degree, created in 2001.


The Program’s facilities include five laboratories and the Seed Processing Unit structured as follows:

– Teaching Laboratory of Seed Analysis;

– Analytical Laboratory of Seed Production;

– Bioseed Laboratory;

– Seed Pathology Laboratory;

– Seed Physiology Laboratory;

– Seed Processing Unit.

Area of Concentration

Seed Science and Technology

Lines of Research

Study Plan

The minimum requirements for completion of the Professional Master's Degree include 24 credits in subjects, foreign language proficiency and dissertation defense.
Six (6) subjects are taught, all by teachers of the Program.
The disciplines are:
Scientific method; Seed Quality Physiology; Seed quality control; Seed Production; Seminars and Post-Harvest Technology.


Prof. Dr. Francisco Amaral Villela 

Prof. Dr. Luis Osmar Braga Schuch (aposentado)

Prof Dr. Silmar Teichert Peske  (aposentado)

Profa. Dra. Lilian Vanuza de Tunes

Prof. Dr. Luis Eduardo Panozzo –

Prof. Dr. Tiago Zanatta Aumonde

Prof. Dr. Tiago Pedó

Profa. Dra. Gizele Ingrid Gadotti

Prof. Dr. Adamo de Sousa Araújo

Dra. Andreia Almeida

Dr. Geri Eduardo Meneghello

Number of credits required

Students are required to complete a minimum of 24 credits and be approved in the Dissertation defense.

Reitoria · Antigo Frigorífico Sul-Riograndense / Anglo · Rua Gomes Carneiro, 01 · Patrimônio Cultural da Universidade