Veterinary Medicine

Phone number:


The Graduate Program in Veterinary Medicine started its activities in 1977 under the title of Master’s Degree in Animal Pathology and was renamed Master’s degree in Animal Health in 1979. From its inception to 1983, the Program was comprehensively oriented towards the various sub-areas of Veterinary Medicine. In 1984, a broad curricular restructuring directed to Animal Health took place so as to offer courses focusing on the diagnosis of farm animal diseases. From 1995 onwards, a number of meaningful curricular modifications have been made to comply with the new lines of research. In 2006, the Doctorate Degree was approved by CAPES. Currently, both the Master’s and Doctorate degree programs are accredited by CAPES with grade 5 and include the sub-areas of Preventive Veterinary Medicine, Animal Disease, Animal Reproduction, and Small and Large Animal Clinics. From its establishment to the present time (2014), the Program has awarded 287 master and 35 PhD degrees.

Target Audience
Veterinarians, biologists and graduates in related fields.

Area of Concentration

Animal Health

Lines of Research

Biotechniques Applied to Reproductive Efficiency; Medical Clinic of Small and Large Animals; Diagnosis, Epidemiology and Control of Infectious and Parasitic Diseases of Animals; Pathologies of Large and Small Animals.

Study Plan


Professor Ana Lucia Pereira Schild

Professor Antônio Sérgio Varela Jr

Professor Augusto Schneider

Professor Bernardo Garziera Gasperin

Professor Carine Dahl Corcini

Professor Carlos Eduardo Wayne Nogueira

Professor Cláudio Dias Timm

Professor Cristina Gevehr Fernandes

Professor Eliza Simone Viégas Sallis

Professor Éverton Fagonde da Silva

Professor Fabiane Borelli Grecco

Professor Fábio Pereira Leivas Leite

Professor Fabrício Rochedo Conceição

Professor Geferson Fischer

Professor Gilberto D´Avila Vargas

Professor Ivan Bianchi

Professor Luiz Filipe Damé Schuch

Professor Márcia de Oliveira Nobre

Professor Marcio Nunes Corrêa

Professor Maria Elisabeth Aires Berne

Professor Mário Carlos Araújo Meireles

Professor Marlete Brum Cleff

Professor Odir Antônio Dellagostin

Professor Silvia de Oliveira Hübner

Professor Thomaz Lucia Júnior

Number of credits required

The Program requires the completion of 25 credits for the master's degree and 48 credits for the doctorate degree. Additionally, students must pass the doctoral qualifying exam as a requirement for the PhD degree.

Campus das Ciências Sociais · Antiga Cosulã · Rua Coronel Alberto Rosa, 154 · Patrimônio Cultural da Universidade